JUSTNature - Activation of nature-based solutions for a just low carbon transition

Cities are major consumers of energy and contributors to greenhouse gas emissions. At the same time, they are already experiencing some of the worst impacts of climate change, due to concentrations of socio-economic activity and building density. In response to these challenges, the value of nature-based solutions is increasingly recognised, including their potential to mitigate the heat island effect, sequester carbon and capture air pollutants. However, neither climate impacts nor the benefits of nature-based solutions are necessarily distributed equitably among city dwellers. The JUSTNature project will combine nature-based solutions and their multiple benefits with attention to their beneficiaries – seeking equitable solutions to the climate emergency.

As part of the project, seven European cities in Belgium, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy and Malta will implement nature-based interventions, mobilising support from their local communities through city practice labs. Each lab will work towards a more equitable, low carbon future and improved environmental quality in four innovation arenas:

1) Governance of nature-based approaches,

2) NbS care and management,

3) Business models and market design,

4) Efficient technologies for nature-based solutions

The team from TUM’s Chair for Strategic Landscape Planning and Management is steering the first innovation dimension: analysing the existing institutions, policies, politics and actors that govern green space planning and management in all seven cities (including the City of Munich) and seeking to identify entry points that might enable more effective and socially-just processes and outcomes. A particular focus will be on collaborative modes of governance that seek to combine bottom-up with top-down approaches.


Funding and Running Time:

EU Horizon 2020; September 2021 – February 2026

Coordination: 

Eurac Research 

Participating organizations:

Eurac Research (EURAC), TU Munich (TUM), Poytechneio Kritis (TUC), Universita ta Malta (UM), RWI – Leibniz-Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung (RWI), ABUD Advanced Building and Urban Design (ABUD), E2ARC Architecture and Research for Cities (E2ARC), Prospex Institute (PI), IES R&D (IES), Inlecom Commercial Pathways (INLE), Crowdhelix (CHX), ISOCARP Institute Center of Urban Excellence (ISOCARP), Kydon, Landeshaupstadt München (MUC), Stad Leuven (LEU), Comune di Merano (MERANO), Comune di Bolzano (COBZ), Gzira Local Council (GLC), Mayor's Office of the City of Szombathely (SMJVO). 

For further information:

Prof. Dr. Stephan Pauleit 

Martina van Lierop, Juliane Meister and Eleanor Chapman

Website: https://cordis.europa.eu/project/id/101003757

This project has received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 01003757.

JUSTNature - Naturbasierte Lösungen für eine gerechte, kohlenstoffarme Transformation der Stadt

Städte sind große Energieverbraucher und Verursacher von Treibhausgasemissionen. Gleichzeitig bekommen sie die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels aufgrund der Konzentration von sozioökonomischen Aktivitäten und der Bebauungsdichte in besonderer Weise zu spüren. Naturbasierte Lösungen werden zunehmend als eine Antwort auf diese Herausforderungen angesehen, da sie den Wärmeinseleffekt abschwächen, sowie Kohlenstoff und die Luftschadstoffe absorbieren können. Allerdings sind sowohl die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels als auch das Nutzen naturbasierter Lösungen für die Stadtbevölkerung ungleich verteilt. Ziel von JUSTNature ist es daher, naturbasierte Lösungen zu entwickeln, die für alle Bürger:innen in der Stadt in gleicher Weise effektiv zu Klimaschutz und Klimawandelanpassung beitragen.

Im Rahmen des Projekts werden naturbasierte Lösungen in sieben europäischen Städten in Belgien, Deutschland, Griechenland, Ungarn, Italien und Malta in City Practice Labs entwickelt und umgesetzt. Jedes Labor arbeitet für eine gerechtere, kohlenstoffarme Zukunft und eine bessere Umweltqualität in vier Innovationsschwerpunkten:

1) Governance von naturbasierten Lösungsansätzen,

2) Pflege und Management von NbS,

3) Geschäftsmodelle und Marktgestaltung,

4) effiziente Technologien für naturbasierte Lösungsansätze.

Das Team des TUM-Lehrstuhls für Strategische Landschaftsplanung und -management leitet die Untersuchungen zum ersten Innovationsschwerpunkt: Es analysiert die bestehenden Institutionen, Politiken und Akteure, die Grünflächenplanung und -management in allen sieben Städten (darunter die Stadt München) regeln, und versucht, Ansätze für effektivere und sozial gerechtere Prozesse zur Entwicklung und Umsetzung von naturbasierten Lösungen zu finden. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt auf kooperativen Formen der Governance, die Bottom-up- und Top-down-Ansätze miteinander verbinden.


Projektförderung und Laufzeit:

EU Horizon 2020; September 2021 – Februar 2026

Koordination: 

Eurac Research

Kooperationspartner:

Eurac Research (EURAC), TU Munich (TUM), Poytechneio Kritis (TUC), Universita ta Malta (UM), RWI – Leibniz-Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung (RWI), ABUD Advanced Building and Urban Design (ABUD), E2ARC Architecture and Research for Cities (E2ARC), Prospex Institute (PI), IES R&D (IES), Inlecom Commercial Pathways (INLE), Crowdhelix (CHX), ISOCARP Institute Center of Urban Excellence (ISOCARP), Kydon, Landeshaupstadt München (MUC), Stad Leuven (LEU), Comune di Merano (MERANO), Comune di Bolzano (COBZ), Gzira Local Council (GLC), Mayor's Office of the City of Szombathely (SMJVO). 

Weitere Informationen

Prof. Dr. Stephan Pauleit 

Martina van Lierop, Juliane Meister und Eleanor Chapman

Webseite: https://cordis.europa.eu/project/id/101003757 

Dieses Projekt wird im Rahmen des EUHorizon2020-Programms finanziert im Rahmen der Finanzhilfevereinbarung Nr. 01003757